Wednesday, 13 July 2011


After frantic preparations over the last three weeks, the Lower School Debating Competition finally took place in the penultimate week of term - and what performances we saw  across all three year groups.

Congratulations go to the following students who successfully proposed the motion: Kia Morne and Tom Griffiths (Yr7), Laura Oldfield and Hanna Mogra; (Yr8) Tom Griffiths (Yr7) and Saskia Starritt (Yr 8); Emma Robinson and Henry Cookson & Hope Jordan and Martin McClintock (Yr 9). 

The motion was defeated by the following speakers: Katie Cooper and Eleanor English & Decland Court and Caroline McHale (Yr 7); Kat Kirkbride and Rebecca Lund (Yr 8); Aimee Harper and Josh Mascord (Yr 9).  Very well done.

Thanks and commiserations go to Isabelle Rayworth, Olivia Dymond, Joe Hyde, Archie Calder, Laura Dewhurst and Madeline Bennett (Yr7); Andrew Connell, Catherine Hamilton, Beth Cuckson, Georgina Round, Lucas Fell and Katie Anderton (Yr 8); Abby Welsh Emily Seagrave, Shauntelle Austin, Dan McClean and Abbie Betteridge (Year 9).

Thanks must also go to the News of the World, Katie Price, Ryan Giggs and Kate Middleton/The Duchess of Cambridge for inspiring so many of the speakers - both for and against.

Finally I extend a huge thank you to those parents who have supported the students with scriptwriting and provided a listening ear as they practised ...and practised... and practised.

Ms Cox

ImageChefcom I Am Awesome

Here is a slideshow of last year's debates

BBEC Debates 2010 on PhotoPeach

No comments:

Post a Comment

We love to receive comments and try to moderate them promptly. If you choose to sign in as anonymous please let us know who you are in the body of the comment.